Authorization session conflation
21Vexday Risk Score
No sign of exploitation. No public exploitation artifact known so far.
ssvc Trackcvss 7.1epss 1.2%
exploitation probability
1.2%top 34% of all CVEs
observed exploitation
nono source reports it
After user deletion in MongoDB Server the improper invalidation of authorization sessions allows an authenticated user's session to persist and become conflated with new accounts, if those accounts reuse the names of deleted ones. This issue affects MongoDB Server v4.0 versions prior to 4.0.9; MongoDB Server v3.6 versions prior to 3.6.13 and MongoDB Server v3.4 versions prior to 3.4.22.
Workaround:
After deleting one or more users, restart any nodes which may have had active user authorization sessions.
Refrain from creating user accounts with the same name as previously deleted accounts.
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
Affected products
MongoDB Inc. · MongoDB Server